Being able to be me…

Hey guys! As it is getting nearer to Christmas (5 days, whoop whoop!!) I wanted to write about something that means a lot to me and since Christmas is the time of year where you celebrate family and friends (among other things), I feel that this is the best way to show my appreciation. It’s an appreciation post!

So last Monday, I went to a Christmas party, but it wasn’t any kind of Christmas party it was one for the Young Carers.

Now if you don’t know what a Young Carer is, here’s a definition from the NHS, “A young carer is someone aged 18 or under who helps look after a relative who has a condition, such as a disability, illness, mental health condition, or a drug or alcohol problem.”

I am a Young Carer. I will probably write about this soon but for now, here is the rest of this post…

So on Monday I went to a Young Carers Christmas party, it was wicked! I loved it! It was so joyful and everything that Christmas is about.

Here’s why I am writing about this…15644269_1201030646631826_2027634216_n

When I’m with other Young Carers, I don’t have to worry about what I look like or how loud my laugh is or how “weird” I am to others because we all accept one another. We are all in the same boat and we all support one another. I guess you could say we are like one big family, well I consider them family anyway. They are always there to talk to, no matter what it is about. When we see each other, if someone isn’t in the best of moods we usually all try to cheer that one person up. I love the atmosphere, its one of my favourite places to be and one group of my favourite people to be around.

It’s really cool because we all come together if someone needs cheering up or making smile. As well as having a wicked team supporting us, the staff are amazing, they truly are the best. They help cheer us up when we are down, support us, give us genuine advice and show us our options within a situation. I am so grateful to have met them, they truly do deserve the recognition for it because I don’t believe they get it enough. These amazing people have given so much and I have seen the difference that they make in so many lives. My aim in life is to be just like them which is 15666281_1201030623298495_1734404171_nwhy I am taking the courses that I am so that I can get there.

The Christmas party was really fun, I really enjoyed it.

On the Tuesday and Wednesday I then went and volunteered at two more Young Carers Christmas parties, it was so much fun! Being able to make them smile and enjoy themselves was awesome, I love being able to do that! Although, I’m pretty sure, they were only laughing because of my awful dancing, but hey, I know I’m awful at dancing and its fun to make people laugh!

I know this is short, but I just wanted to show my appreciation for the Young Carers that I have met and the Young Carers team. The fact that they are there for me when I need them most really does mean the world to me, they are truly amazing! So I thought I’d write about them, they know who they are! Thank you so much for supporting me!

Okay, so I know this is short but then again its “short but sweet.” I just really wanted to show my appreciation for those people. Thank you so much! I hope you all have a very merry Christmas and there may be a new blog post up on Thursday (two in one week, whoop whoop!). Have a lovely week and remember to keep smiling. Much love – Alison xx

Leave a comment