My dreams

When I was little I use to have this dream of being a princess but then thought about how life would be, it must be kind of boring being a princess, don’t get me wrong, being able to wear expensive clothes and having so much power sounds great, but you can’t take risks, I mean when have you ever heard of a princess saving people out of a fire, or racing cars at a stupidly fast speed? You haven’t, or if you have then please tell me because that would be awesome to read about!!

When I was about 6 years old, I wanted to be a race car driver, so I’d be able to race in all the big race competitions and win trophies that were half the size of me, but then I realised that I wouldn’t be able to do that as I’ve never seen a female racer on TV. When I was about 7, I wanted to be a ballerina so I joined a class but eventually stopped because I didn’t think it was that fun. When I was about 8,  my dream was to be a firemen (I don’t know if there is a different term for women or not) but then I realised I didn’t really like standing next to a hot cooker so how could I possibly be a firemen?

When I was 10, I really liked Beyoncé, I dreamed about selling out stadiums and being the idol and inspiration to thousands of people, but then realised I sound like a cat being strangled when I sing, so maybe it’s best to keep the singing for in the shower. When I was 12, I wanted to be a author, it would still be an awesome idea to write a book and have loads of people read it – to have loads of people be interested in what I’m writing. At the time I was a bookworm – I still am – that’s probably why I wanted to do it but I don’t think I could ever write a book, I’d have no idea what to write about and it would never get published anyway.

When I was 13, my role model was my youth worker, I really looked up to her, I still do. I decided that when I was older I wanted to take care of children, that’s still my dream. I love helping people and looking after children, I volunteer at two different groups twice a week to help out with children. It’s so much fun, I love knowing that I can make them smile and laugh. At each age I have had a different dream, but that is my dream now, that’s all I want to do, look after children. I want to be a role model and inspire people. It makes me feel great to know that I inspire people.

A lot of people have told me over the past 2 years that I need to be more realistic with what I want to be when I finish school, but I don’t think I need to be anymore realistic than I already have been. If I work to get what I want to achieve, I’ll be able to do it, it is possible. Just because someone says something isn’t possible doesn’t mean that it’s true, if you work for what you want, it will be easy to achieve. Whatever your dream is, don’t give up, even if people say you won’t be able to do it, don’t give up! I’ve been told plenty of times I won’t be able to do something but if I believed them then I wouldn’t be where I am today, so don’t listen to people that spread negativity because they’re just going to put you down, and you don’t need that in life!

Keep smiling Smile – Alison xx